BookingKoala vs ZenMaid (2026): Online Booking Site or Cleaner Dispatch?
Based on official pricing pages, product documentation and public owner feedback. We have not run a hands-on trial for this page yet. How we review
On this page
Short answer
- Most customers book themselves online: BookingKoala. Starter ($27/mo) includes a booking website, your own domain and customizable booking forms.
- Your office schedules recurring cleans and dispatches cleaners: ZenMaid. Pro ($39/mo) adds unlimited appointments, checklists, cleaner GPS and payroll. Starter is $19/mo for up to 40 appointments a month.
- Big or growing team that wants online booking without per-person limits: Launch27. Every plan includes unlimited users, from $75/mo.
Both tools are sold to maid and house cleaning businesses. They start from opposite ends of the job.
BookingKoala is a booking website first. Customers land on your site, pick a service, choose a time and book. ZenMaid is a scheduling and dispatch calendar first. It’s built for an office that slots recurring clients onto cleaners’ routes and keeps the team on track.
So the deciding question is simple: do your customers book themselves, or does your office book them?
What each one costs
| Compared on | BookingKoala | ZenMaid | Launch27 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry plan | Starter: $27 (up to 5 providers) | Starter: $19 (up to 40 appointments a month) | Base: $75 (unlimited users) |
| Middle plan | Growing: $57 (up to 15 providers) | Pro: $39 (unlimited appointments) | Pro: $150 |
| Top plan | Premium: $197 (up to 50 providers); larger tiers cost more | Pro Max: $49 | Plus: $299 |
| Team size | Every team member counts as a provider | Not stated; price calculator asks for cleaners and office managers | Unlimited users on every plan |
| Annual billing | None stated | None stated | 15% off: $765, $1,530 or $3,049.80 a year |
| Text messages | SMS notifications from Growing | SMS billed separately, rate not stated | Text reminders from Pro |
| Free trial | 14 days per FAQ (banner also shows 30); card charged when it ends | 14 days, cancel from account settings | 14 days |
| Support | 24/7 by email | Chat only on Starter; priority support on Pro Max | Not stated |
On listed prices, ZenMaid is cheaper at every tier. Its full-featured Pro Max ($49/mo) costs less than BookingKoala Growing ($57/mo). Over a year, BookingKoala Growing is $684 and ZenMaid Pro is $468.
Two caveats keep that from being the whole story:
- ZenMaid’s prices may not be all-in. SMS is billed on top at a rate ZenMaid doesn’t publish. Its pricing page also has a calculator that asks how many cleaners and office managers you have, but shows no per-person rate. Run the calculator with your real headcount before you compare.
- BookingKoala’s price is tied to headcount. Every team member counts as a provider. Going from 15 to 16 providers moves you from Growing to Premium, a $140/mo jump. Past 50 providers, larger Premium tiers are priced by providers, storage or contacts. Upgrades at the limit are manual, and BookingKoala lists its prices as “starts at” before sales tax.
Launch27 costs more up front but never charges per person. On annual billing, Base works out to about $63.75/mo and Pro to $127.50/mo.
By crew size
- Solo or just starting: ZenMaid Starter at $19/mo works if you stay under 40 appointments a month, about 10 a week. It has no booking forms listed, no cleaner GPS and chat-only support. BookingKoala Starter at $27/mo gets you a booking website instead.
- 2 to 15 cleaners: ZenMaid Pro ($39) or Pro Max ($49), plus SMS. BookingKoala Growing ($57) if you want SMS, GPS clock-in and advanced reports, which Starter lacks.
- 16 or more cleaners: BookingKoala is $197/mo or more. ZenMaid doesn’t publish team pricing, so get a number from its calculator. Launch27 stays $75 to $299 no matter how many users you add.
How customers book: the deciding factor
BookingKoala puts the booking website at the center. Even Starter includes an advanced theme builder, your own domain, customizable booking forms, smart scheduling and one custom lead form. Premium adds multi-step booking forms, daily discounts and lead funnels. If you want new customers to find you, see a price and book at 11 p.m. without calling, this is what BookingKoala is built for.
ZenMaid puts the calendar at the center. Calendar, dispatch and map views come on every plan. Pro adds a feature ZenMaid calls Spotfinder for recurring customers, plus digital checklists and cleaner GPS. Online booking forms exist, but they start on Pro with ZenMaid branding. Forms with your own branding need Pro Max. ZenMaid’s pricing page doesn’t list a website builder.
Launch27 sits in between. It gives you a booking form to drop into an existing WordPress, Wix or Squarespace site, with Launch27 branding on Base and no branding on Pro. It also includes payroll and customer and cleaner login portals on every plan.
Features that differ by plan
| Compared on | BookingKoala | ZenMaid | Launch27 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Booking website and own domain | Starter and up | Not listed | Not listed; form embeds in WordPress, Wix or Squarespace |
| Online booking forms | Customizable on Starter; multi-step on Premium | Pro (ZenMaid branding); Pro Max (your branding) | Base (Launch27 branding); Pro (no branding) |
| Recurring scheduling tools | Smart scheduling on Starter | Spotfinder for recurring customers on Pro | Not listed |
| Dispatch and map views | Not listed | Calendar, dispatch and map views on Starter | Bookings on a map on Pro |
| Cleaner GPS or check-in | GPS and clock in/out on Growing | Cleaner GPS on Pro | Team check in/out alerts on Plus |
| Mobile app | Mobile access on Starter | Starter (no GPS); GPS from Pro | Plus only |
| Cleaning checklists | Not listed | Pro | Not listed |
| Payroll | Not listed | Reports and payroll on Pro | Payroll manager with commission reports on Base |
| QuickBooks | Not listed | Listed as coming soon | Pro |
| Zapier | Not listed | Pro Max | Pro |
| Gift cards and referrals | Gift cards and referral system on Growing | Not listed | Gift cards on Pro; referral engine on Plus |
| Marketing | Campaigns on Premium (5,000 contacts) | Mailchimp integration on Pro Max | Automated review requests on Pro |
| Non-cleaning services | Yes, sold to pest control, dog walking and other trades too | Built for maid services | Built for maid services |
“Not listed” means the vendor’s pricing page doesn’t mention it, not that the product can’t do it. Ask about anything you depend on during the trial.
One thing to watch in search results: some competitor comparison pages, such as one from TidyWise, say ZenMaid has no payroll. ZenMaid’s own pricing page lists reports and payroll on Pro. That same page does confirm the entry plan is capped by bookings (40 appointments a month on Starter).
What owners are asking
The questions owners post line up with this split. One r/housekeeping thread starts with a cleaner who is getting busier and wants a tool that lets customers book from their website. That’s BookingKoala’s core pitch.
A Facebook group post asks which is easier for scheduling and paying cleaning crews, Square or BookingKoala. If paying crews is your main headache, note that BookingKoala’s pricing page doesn’t list payroll. ZenMaid lists it on Pro, and Launch27 has a payroll manager with commission reports on Base.
The three at a glance
Best for self-serve online booking
BookingKoala
- Price
- from $27/mo
- Free trial
- Free trial with all plan features. The banner shows both '14' and '30' days; the FAQ says you are charged after the 14-day free trial. You can switch between plans during the trial, and your card is charged immediately after the trial ends.
- Prices checked
Good fit if
- Businesses wanting a booking website and forms from $27/mo
- Teams of up to 15 providers needing SMS and GPS clock-in ($57/mo)
- Companies running multiple industries, e.g. cleaning plus pest control
Skip it if
- Starter users needing SMS, GPS or advanced reports (requires Growing at $57/mo)
- Larger crews: every team member counts as a provider, so 16+ providers means Premium at $197/mo or more
- Buyers wanting phone support; the page lists 24/7 support via email only
What works
- Booking website and own domain on the $27 plan
- Works for more than one industry
- Gift cards and a referral system on Growing
- No contracts
What doesn't
- Every team member counts toward the provider limit
- 16 or more providers means $197/mo or more
- SMS and GPS need Growing
- Support is listed as email only
- Trial length shown as both 14 and 30 days
Best for office-scheduled recurring cleans
ZenMaid
- Price
- from $19/mo
- Free trial
- Free 14-day trial; the page says there are no hidden fees and you can cancel the trial anytime from account settings
- Prices checked
Good fit if
- New maid services booking under 40 appointments a month on the $19 Starter plan
- Residential cleaning companies wanting unlimited appointments, checklists and cleaner GPS tracking at $39/month
- Owners switching systems who want free contact and calendar import
Skip it if
- Non-cleaning trades, since it is built specifically for maid services
- Businesses needing QuickBooks integration now (listed as coming soon)
- Buyers wanting predictable all-in pricing: SMS is extra and team-size pricing isn't spelled out
What works
- Lowest listed prices of the three
- Dispatch and map views on every plan
- Checklists, cleaner GPS and payroll on the $39 plan
- Free contact and calendar import
- Month-to-month, no contract
What doesn't
- SMS billed separately at an unpublished rate
- Team-size pricing not spelled out
- Starter capped at 40 appointments a month
- QuickBooks listed as coming soon
- No website builder listed
Best for large teams
Launch27
- Price
- from $75/mo
- Free trial
- Page title advertises a 14-day risk-free trial and links to a free trial; no further trial terms given
- Prices checked
Good fit if
- Maid and housecleaning companies wanting online booking on their website
- Growing cleaning teams that need unlimited users and bookings
- Multi-location cleaning businesses on the $299/month Plus plan
Skip it if
- Businesses outside housecleaning; the product is built for maid services
- Budget buyers needing a cleaner mobile app, which requires the $299/month Plus plan
- Base plan users wanting text reminders or QuickBooks, which start at Pro ($150/month)
What works
- Unlimited users on every plan
- Payroll manager on Base
- 15% off with annual billing
- Multi-location calendars on Plus
What doesn't
- Highest entry price of the three
- Mobile app only on the $299 plan
- Text reminders and QuickBooks start at $150/mo
Full price lists
| Plan | Users | Month-to-month | Billed annually | Notable features |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | Up to 5 providers or 5 GB storage | $27/mo | Not listed |
|
| Growing | Up to 15 providers or 15 GB storage | $57/mo | Not listed |
|
| Premium | Up to 50 providers or 50 GB storage; 5,000 contacts | $197/mo | Not listed |
|
- Free trial: Free trial with all plan features. The banner shows both '14' and '30' days; the FAQ says you are charged after the 14-day free trial. You can switch between plans during the trial, and your card is charged immediately after the trial ends.
- Extra users: Each provider (including each team member) counts toward the plan limit. Larger Premium tiers run from 237 USD/mo (60 providers or 60 GB, 10,000 contacts) up to 597 USD/mo, priced by providers, storage or contacts. Upgrades at plan limits are manual.
- Billing: Prices shown as 'Starts at' per month. No annual pricing is stated. No contracts; you can cancel anytime. No setup fees for general help or connections; full store setup is referred to third parties. Sales tax is not included and is collected where required.
- Paid add-ons: Larger Premium tiers 237–597 USD/mo; Campaign contacts can raise monthly price (can be disabled); Domain purchase inside BookingKoala
| Plan | Users | Month-to-month | Billed annually | Notable features |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZenMaid Starter | Not stated | $19/mo | Not listed |
|
| ZenMaid Pro | Not stated | $39/mo | Not listed |
|
| ZenMaid Pro Max | Not stated | $49/mo | Not listed |
|
- Free trial: Free 14-day trial; the page says there are no hidden fees and you can cancel the trial anytime from account settings
- Extra users: Not stated; the page has a price calculator asking how many cleaners and office managers you have, but no per-user rate is shown
- Billing: Month-to-month agreement, no contract or signature required; cancel anytime. SMS charges not included in plan prices. No annual pricing stated.
- Paid add-ons: SMS charges billed separately (rate not stated); Free import of contacts and calendar by the ZenMaid team
Fine print to check before you sign
- BookingKoala trial length: the banner shows both 14 and 30 days, but the FAQ says you’re charged after 14. Your card is charged as soon as the trial ends, so set a reminder.
- BookingKoala campaign contacts can raise your monthly price on Premium. The page says this can be disabled.
- BookingKoala past 50 providers: larger Premium tiers are priced by providers, storage or contacts, and you upgrade manually when you hit a limit.
- ZenMaid SMS: ask for the per-message rate and estimate it against your reminder volume.
- ZenMaid headcount: run the pricing calculator with your real number of cleaners and office managers.
- Launch27 mobile app: if cleaners need an app in the field, budget for Plus.
Who should skip each one
Skip BookingKoala if most of your work is recurring clients your office already schedules by phone or text. You’d be paying for a website builder you won’t use. Also skip it if you have more than 15 cleaners and a tight budget, or you need phone support.
Skip ZenMaid if you need QuickBooks now, want a booking website built for you, or need a firm all-in monthly number before you start. Skip it if you run non-cleaning services too.
Skip Launch27 if you’re small and price-sensitive. Base at $75/mo costs more than either rival’s middle plan, and the mobile app is on the $299 plan only.
Which should you pick?
- Choose BookingKoala if new customers find you online and you want them booking without a call. That goes double if you sell more than one service type.
- Choose ZenMaid if your revenue is recurring cleans scheduled by your office and you want checklists, GPS and payroll at the lowest listed price.
- Choose Launch27 if your team is large or growing fast and per-person limits would keep pushing you up a tier.
Before you trial anything, make sure your prices are right. Our house cleaning price calculator helps. For more options, including general field service tools like Jobber, see our best cleaning business software roundup.
Run the trial with real customers from this week. Book three recurring clients and one new online booking in each tool, and see which one your office actually wants to open.
Try BookingKoala free for 14 days(opens the vendor's site in a new tab)Start a ZenMaid 14-day trial(opens the vendor's site in a new tab)
FAQ
Is ZenMaid cheaper than BookingKoala?
On listed prices, yes: ZenMaid is $19, $39 and $49 a month versus BookingKoala's $27, $57 and $197. But ZenMaid bills SMS separately and doesn't publish team-size pricing, while BookingKoala includes SMS from Growing. Run ZenMaid's calculator with your headcount before comparing.
Does BookingKoala build a website for my cleaning business?
Its Starter plan ($27/mo) includes an advanced theme builder, your own domain and customizable booking forms. Full store setup is referred to third parties, but there's no setup fee for general help.
Can customers book online with ZenMaid?
Yes, from the Pro plan ($39/mo), with ZenMaid branding on the forms. Forms with your own branding need Pro Max ($49/mo). Booking forms aren't listed on Starter.
Which one works with QuickBooks?
ZenMaid lists QuickBooks as coming soon, and BookingKoala's pricing page doesn't list it. Launch27 includes QuickBooks on its Pro plan at $150/mo.
How long are the free trials?
ZenMaid and Launch27 both offer 14 days. BookingKoala's banner shows both 14 and 30 days, but its FAQ says you're charged after 14 days, and your card is billed as soon as the trial ends.